Book a Course

Cookery School Reviews

Print_Logo_COE2016_en_UK

In June 2016, we were delighted to be awarded the Trip Advisor ‘Certificate of Excellence for the 2nd year in a row. Trip Advisor gives this award to businesses that consistently receive great reviews from their customers.

Below are just a few of the reviews that we’ve received from past students of the school. To read all of our reviews in full, please visit our Trip Advisor page.

Professional Three Month Certificate course:

I finished the 3 month course over a week ago and I am still sad that its over. I had one of the best experiences of my life over the past 3 months. Firstly, the depth of knowledge and skill the tutors have (Tara, Eric, Richard, Reggie etc) is outstanding, and the fun and helpful manner in which they teach being even more impressive. I enjoyed every single day in DCS but some of the highlights would be the buzz of the pop-up nights, our trip to Dungarvan (oyster farm and gin distillery included), my ‘stage’ placement in Forest Avenue (working with and learning from one of the best chefs in the country, John Wyer), and the wide variety of cuisines we learned from our tutors e.g. (Tara – Korean, French. Eric- Mexican, Italian. Lynda – Thai. Richard – Moroccan. Reggie – the master of pizza!). I now feel ready to pursue my passion for food with the confidence and knowledge I have gained in DCS. And to top it off, I made friends for life and memories I will never forget. Lynda has built a fantastic school and team around her and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Geena – Three Month Certificate student, January 2016

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to pursue a career in the food industry or looking to further their skills in the kitchen. From the wide range of food covered to the expertise of the tutors, it really is top class. I loved every minute of it, especially guest chefs John Wyer from Forest Avenue and Enda McEvoy from Loam in Galway. We covered numerous cuisines such as Korean, Italian, Mexican, Thai, Moroccan and French. We ran pop up nights for 70 paying customers which gave us all an insight into how restaurants are run. Every student goes on a ‘Stage’ for a week in top Dublin restaurants which really shows the contacts Lynda and her team have throughout the food industry. I have thoroughly enjoyed my three months here and am looking forward to my future career in a kitchen.

Adam – Three Month Certificate student, January 2016

I have just finished a wonderful three month cookery course at the Dublin Cookery School, it is a wonderful course filled with a wide range of activities, from learning to make cheese, temper chocolate, and make bread. We had wonderful visits from amazing guest chefs and spent a wonderful night away together visiting the Tannery. The staff were all very knowledgeable and willing to share there time and skills with all the students, they offered encouragement and constant support. The school had wonderful equipment and all the best ingredients along with a lovely atmosphere. Everyday at the school was different but they were all so enjoyable. It was an amazing three months and I’m so sad its over.

Judy – Three Month Certificate student, January 2016

Best Decision I Ever Made!

Smaller numbers, along with student/teacher ratio, not to mention attention to detail, is what makes the Dublin Cookery School stand out from all other schools of its kind. Lynda Booth offers a more contemporary approach to cooking, thus adding another dimension to the course. Balancing professionalism with a genuine and individual interest in each of her students, makes this a school that ticks all the right boxes. Whether one is considering becoming a chef, or just wanting to add to ones culinary skills, I would highly recommend the Dublin Cookery School. It’s the best thing I ever did.

Zoe – Three Month Certificate student, January 2014

What can I say about this course?!!!! It was more than I ever expected. We cooked with top quality ingredients, and because of doing so it has given me a real appreciation of what good food should really taste like. Our tutors including Lynda herself were exceptional, their years of experience was something that they were so willing to share with us, and because of this I have been given a portfolio of recipes! and rest assured they are recipes that can be drawn from for every occasion. From a family meal to an elegant dinner party. It was such a varied course from one day foraging in Greystones to being shown how to temper chocolate to watching an artisan bread maker at work, cooking with chefs from top restaurants in Dublin to decorating our own cakes, to making croissants and to our final BBQ on our last day. Our pop up restaurant nights were a huge success and got us all involved in cooking for large amounts of people and appreciating the work that does go into a commercial kitchen. So thank you all for such a fabulous memorable experience.

Geraldine – Three Month Certificate student, January 2014

Life-changing Learning Experience

completed the 3 month certificate course this past year after deciding I needed a career change. I couldn’t have chosen a better place to learn, laugh and be challenged. All of the tutors on the course come from professional backgrounds and are persistent in their mission to make you a better cook. I found them to be immensely encouraging while they challenge you to reach your highest potential in the kitchen. Some people who do the course are there to learn to be better home cooks, and others are there to learn how to cook in a more professional way in a working restaurant kitchen. Both outlooks are catered for simultaneously by the wonderful Lynda, Richard, Ed and Maria. The school’s passion for creating excellent food is infectious, and their patience and encouraging words made me look forward to going in every single day. The afternoon demonstrations were treated like open forums, where questions were encouraged and explanations readily offered. The pop up restaurant nights gave me great insight to working in a kitchen, while the cheese and wine tastings rounded out our growing knowledge of food pairings by equally passionate masters in their fields. I thrived on being pushed further to better myself throughout the course and I knew I could ask any one of the tutors for career advice and guidance on my next steps in the industry. Stop wondering whether should you do the course or not – just do it. You won’t regret it.

Fiona – Three Month Certificate Student, January 2014

 

One Month Certificate course:

I recently decided to do a cookery course and obviously researched local schools as I really wanted to get the best out of it and that I did by choosing Lynda Booth’s ‘Dublin Cookery School’ (DCS). At DCS I was hoping there would be a lot of ‘hands on’ cooking as I feel it’s the only practical way to learn and there certainly was here. Excellent tuition by professional tutors, all very patient and helpful with useful tips you wouldn’t see on a recipe or read in a book. I enjoyed my four weeks here so much I have booked again to do some of the wonderful evening courses available. Happy cooking ……..I now have Lynda’s signed cookery book along with my very own recipe portfolio compiled from my course ……..the world’s my oyster!

Anne – One Month Certificate student, April 2014

It’s the in thing to take a ‘gap’ time away from the everyday and so I took time out to attend the one month cookery course at Linda Booth’s Cookery school in school. I live 2 hours away from Dublin so Sally, from the school, recommended a convenient B&B for me. It turned out that my after school evenings were a great opportunity to catch up with friends, to go to the cinema and experience pilates reformer classes in the city. I loved it all. The positivism from Linda and all the tutors was evident from the moment I walked into the school . Linda always provided the best of equipment and ingredients and gave step by step demonstrations and guidance. She up-graded our skills but most of all our confidence with food. We worked hard improving skills, learned new flavours and how to taste our dishes.My interest never waned at all during the month. On completion I have a large folder full of recipes and techniques which I am continually practicing. I also got Linda’s cookery book which continues to inspire me and build my confidence. I’m no longer intimidated by recipes in all the cookery books I have at home. I’m interested in trying them out. I’m more careful about following recipes and yet more capable to experiment with my own ideas. My family and friends have noticed a big improvement in my cooking. I had a wonderful month at Lynda Booth’s cookery course and since then I’ve saved a fortune on restaurant bills happily entertaining at home.

Paula – One Month Certificate student, April 2014

This is a brilliant course for anyone who wants to develop a bible of key recipes to resort to for any occasion. There is a great mix of people of all ages and abilities on the course. The tutors Lynda, Maria, Richard, Ed, and Grainne are excellent and always on hand to help out or answer any questions.We also had guest tutors as part of the programme. As part of the one month course we had a pop up night which gave me a good insight into what it might be like to work in the sector. Sally was very helpful before I signed onto the course. Now that I am back at work I really miss my scones and cream and also my three course meal for lunch!

Sinead – One Month Certificate Student, January 2014

This was a hugely enjoyable month of cooking and learning. It was something that I had wanted to do for a long time and I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn from such experienced, enthusiastic and patient teachers. I knew that I would enjoy the month, what I hadn’t expected was the buzz from learning new skills, the pleasure of tasting new recipes and the thrill experienced from cooking for others at the pop up restaurant. The time and effort each of the tutors spend patiently explaining techniques to the students, with as much enthusiasm time and time again can only be applauded. Thank you so much Lynda, Richard, Ed, Maria and Grainne. Each and every day of the course was a pleasure.

Anna – One Month Certificate Student, January 2014

At DCS, I was hoping there would be a lot of ‘hands-on’ cooking as I feel it’s the only practical way to learn and there certainly was here. Excellent tuition by professional tutors, all very patient and helpful with useful tips you wouldn’t see on a recipe or read in a book. I enjoyed my four weeks here so much I have booked again to do some of the wonderful evening courses available.

Anne – One Month Certificate Student, April 2014

This is a wonderful course and is superb value for money. Lynda and her team are inspirational teachers and they run an exceptional school. Their passion for food ensures that every school day is packed with new recipes, techniques and most importantly, fun. I’ve taken away a folder full of recipes and food combinations that I would never have attempted in the past and my confidence in the kitchen has come on in leaps and bounds. It’s not just that I have a whole range of new skills (how to fillet a fish, bone a chicken, dice an onion, sharpen knives, make tasty stock, pastries, breads and cakes…) it’s that I feel so much more organised and on top of things. Now, with a bit of forward planning, no recipe is too difficult. At DCS, I learned that this is really the key to becoming a great cook. What a great investment, my only regret is that I couldn’t stay on longer!

Orla – One Month Certificate Student, April 2014

The positivity from Lynda and all the tutors was evident from the moment I walked into the school. Lynda always provided the best of equipment and ingredients and gave step by step demonstrations and guidance. She upgraded our skills, but most of all our confidence with food. We worked hard improving skills, learned new flavours and how to taste our dishes. My interest never waned at all during the month. On completion I have a large folder full of recipes and techniques which I am continually practicing. I also got Lynda’s cookery book which continues to inspire me and build my confidence. I’m no longer intimidated by recipes in all the cookery books I have at home. I’m interested in trying them out. I’m more careful about following recipes and yet more capable to experiment with my own ideas. My family and friends have noticed a big improvement in my cooking.

Paula – One Month Certificate Student, January 2014

Having researched extensively, I selected and attended the one month cookery course in January 2014. I have so say that the level of professionalism, dedication and fun that all of the tutors brought to the course was exemplary. Every day brought new and exciting challenges. The learning curve on the course was steep but help was always on hand by the tutors whenever required. The facilities at DCS are second to none and the quality of the ingredients supplied and used by the attendees are always of a very high standard. I have also attended several evening and weekend courses and the exceptional high standards are consistently maintained. Lynda, Gráinne, Richard, Ed, Maria & Megan are extremely helpful during all aspects of the cooking courses (& the guest chef’s), they bring the attendees up to a new and exciting level of cooking that seemed unachievable prior to the course. I would have no hesitation in recommending Dublin Cookery School to anyone aspiring to be a better cook, empowering and enabling them to amaze friends and family with fantastic menus and meals.

Tomas – One Month Certificate student, January 2014

 

One Week courses:

When I first told my 13 year old son that I had booked a cookery course for him during the school holidays, he wasn’t overly impressed. I told him he would be learning a life skill for which he would be eternally grateful. He went along not altogether enthusiastically on the first day. He came home a different child – full of hints and tips for me to improve my cooking! He absolutely loved the week and would quite happily have done a second. He loved the whole environment, the tutors, learning, cooking and tasting. He has tried more herbs, spices and vegetables in the past week than I could get him to eat since he moved to solid food as a toddler. I can’t rate the course highly enough and we, as a family, are already benefiting from his new-found interest and confidence in all things culinary. Thank you to everyone at Dublin Cookery School.

Colette – mother of student on One Week ‘Growing Gourmets’ course, June 2016

I did a 4 day cookery course recently in Dublin cookery school called cooking for friends. Which I thoroughly enjoyed. I learnt so much in such a short space of time. On the first morning we had coffee and tea and beautiful biscuits that were baked for us with some time to socialise. We started the week with a cooking demo and then cooked a 3 course meal which we did in pairs, then ended the day with another demo. For the rest of the week we started the day by cooking a 3 course meal (with a new partner everyday) and ended the day with another demo on what we were cooking the next day. The teachers were extremely friendly and helpful. I had a great week and will definitely be going back to learn more. I would highly recommend this cookery school to people with an interest in cooking or to anyone that’s looking for something fun and different to do.

Katie – student on 4 day ‘Cooking For Friends’ course, March 2016

I did the week-long ‘Cooking With Friends’ course from March 29th to April 1st and really enjoyed it. There was 13 of us in the group and ages varied from 18 to 60. We had 3 chefs instructing us for the week; Eric, Reggie and Richard. They were all really friendly and made everyone feel very relaxed! I am a very amateur cook but the head chefs were very helpful and attentive if any of us had any questions. They also feed you extremely well so make sure you arrive on an empty stomach!! We cooked a starter, main course and dessert every day and everything was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend!

Clodagh – student on 4 day ‘Cooking For Friends’ course, March 2016

Excellent week, really enjoyed myself, I learned a lot. All the staff were excellent, very helpful, organised, and professional. Have already made some of the dishes for my family and they loved them. Really enjoyable week, would highly recommend it to friends.

Olivia – student on One Week ‘Cooking For Friends’ course, July 2015

The class completely exceeded our expectations. Thank you for introducing our daughter to so many useful and creative techniques. She has talked about the class with friends and family at every opportunity.

Karen – Daugher was a student on our One Week ‘Growing Gourmets’ (12-16 years) course, June 2015

Before going on this course I considered myself a competent cook but have improved enormously as a result. The teaching staff and their assistants were excellent – extremely knowledgeable And helpful. I found the whole atmosphere friendly and rewarding. I have since cooked several of the dishes covered on the course with great success. I would certainly recommend the cookery school to any enthusiastic cook wishing to improve their skills. Already looking forward to further one-week courses. Many thanks.

Jim – student on One Week ‘Cooking For Friends’ course, September 2014

If anyone has time to take a week off work I highly recommend spending at the Dublin Cookery School in Blackrock. I spent a week on the course ‘cooking for friends’ and loved every minute – fantastic ingredients, wonderful, passionate and helpful tutors…I wish I could have stayed for a month! Got some lovely recipes and have made a few things at home since. You meet a great bunch of people too! So much fun! A must-do!

Unknown – student on One Week ‘Cooking For Friends’ course, August 2014

I thought the Chef/instructors were excellent in both their cooking and communication skills. The ‘cooking for friends’, 1 week course was intense, absorbing, enjoyable and demanding. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and hope my family and friends benefit from what I learned there.Thanks to all the staff and I hope to do another course in the near future.

Morgan – student on One Week ‘Cooking For Friends’ course, August 2014

Hi All, just a quick note to say what an amazing experience. This a fantastic cookery school with verry informative, professional and patient tutors. Can not say enough good things about the school , tutors and course.

Terry – student on One Week ‘Cafe Cooking’ course, September 2014

I did a 1 week course in cafe cooking.It was a great experience and I learned some great tips about cooking and baking.I never really baked before so it was great to learn something new. Demonstrations where great,chefs where great and very helpful.Overall it was a fantastic week and I would recommend to anyone who has an interest in cooking.

Jarlath – student on One Week ‘Cafe Cooking’ course, August 2014

 

Evening classes:

Not the first time that my wife & I have done a course here, and won’t be the last. Always a fun interactive experience and the menu and courses we cooked this time were delicious, and all of the staff there to assist were super efficient & friendly. Keep up the good work!

Eddie – student on Good Food Fast, April 2016

I really enjoyed my first experience a the taste of Morocco last night. We were given a very warm welcome, just the right amount of people, the chef was excellent and answered all questions no matter how trivial. The team were seamless, everything went like clockwork, and the help in preparing the delicious recipes made even the most self conscious cook feel at ease. Lots of laughter and gorgeous food with a lovely glass of red made for a great evening. I left clutching my recipes which I will use to entertain. I will return!

Helen – student on Taste of Morocco, March 2016

Went to their Moroccan cooking class and was a very well put together class. Well split out facility between the demo area and then a separate kitchen area for you to go down and put what you have learnt into practice. The chef on the night gave you a lot more than just a class on Moroccan cuisine but a masterclass on cooking and ingredients in general. I would strongly advise if you are looking to do a cooking class that you look this company up. Good for beginners or advanced cooks.

Mark – student on Taste of Morocco, March 2016

I have recently attended three courses at the Dublin Cookery School. The first was World Street Food. The two chefs were incredible – Richard and Eric. They taught us so many fabulous dishes that were really adventurous, skilful and actually easily replicated thanks to the comprehensive lessons and recipe book. I attended a Macaroon making course with Grainne – she is unbelievable and my friends were delighted with the box of macaroons I brought home! Finally I did A Cheats Guide To Gourmet Food…. Wow! It was amazing! Again that was with Eric who really knows his stuff!! The best part of the whole thing, apart from learning so many things about food, you get to eat everything that you make!! The school is run so well – there are little angels who set up all the stations for you, and clean up after you – I think they are/were day students of the school. You get help throughout the whole experience and everyone is just lovely. I will definitely be attending more courses and have told so many people about this place. I would strongly recommend this place if you are interested in food, cooking, baking or if you just like to eat amazing food!!!

Amy – student on evening classes, December 2014

 

Pop-up Restaurant Nights:

I brought my Mum for her birthday, we were so pleased with our meal, all the five courses were delicious and cooked to perfection. A wonderful night. Well done all. Thank you.

Marianne – attended Pop-up Restaurant Night, November 2014